Eredivisie tickets

The Eredivisie is the top flight of men’s professional football in the Netherlands. Formed back in 1956, the leagues formation came only two years after a professional football association was formed in the country. The league has gone from strength to strength and in 2013 the Eredivisie was ranked by UEFA as the ninth best League in Europe.

As with most professional leagues in Europe the competition the season is played from August to May each year. The Eredivisie consists of 18 clubs and a promotion relegation system is in place with the second tier of profession football in the Netherlands.

Since its formation the Eredivisie has seen 3 main title challengers with AFC Ajax winning an impressive 32 national titles. The other two clubs who have ensured the trio have dominated Dutch professional football are PSV Eindhoven and Feyenoord. Since 1965 the Dutch championship has gone to these three clubs on all but three occasions when AZ and FC Twente claimed the title.

The Eredivisie has had a number of name changes over the years and between 1990 and 1999 the league was knows as the PTT Telecompetitie after is principle sponsor. After 1999 the league became known as the KPN Telecompetitie after the sponsor changed their name and finally to KPN Eredivisie in 2000.

Similar to leagues in France, Italy and Spain, Eredivisie enjoys popularity in the Asian markets and clubs tap in to lucrative revenues streams through merchandising and television rights.


Eredivisie Fixtures 2022 | 2023